New IKZ Management & Organization Structure since 1st April 2019:
With the new scientific director Prof. Thomas Schroeder taking office in February 2018 and the institute´s Leibniz evaluation in December 2018, the IKZ Institute Concept 2019 was developed – and fully supported by the evaluation committee - to strengthen IKZ´s future mission & strategy on science & technology as well as service & transfer on crystalline materials. To put this strategy in the best possible way in place, IKZ rearranged its management & organization structure (see the new IKZ Organigram 2019) on 1st April 2019. Accordingly, a new IKZ website presentation is currently under construction and will be launched soon.



Since February 1st, 2018, Prof. Dr. Thomas Schröder is nominated as scientific director of the Leibniz Institute for Crystal Growth (IKZ) in Berlin-Adlershof, Germany, in association with a W3 professorship  for "Crystal Growth" at the Institute of Physics of the Humboldt University of Berlin.


The Forschungsverbund Berlin e.V. (FVB) comprises eight research institutes in Berlin, among them the Leibniz Institute for Crystal Growth. While the institutes perform their research activities autonomously and operate with separate budgets, they pursue common interests within the framework of the FVB as the legal entity. Additionally, all eight institutes share a common administrative infrastructure and are members of the Leibniz Association.

Advisory Board

state 2/2019

Dr. Martin Straßburg
OSRAM Opto Semiconductors GmbH

Prof. Dr. Saskia Fischer
Mathematisch-Naturwissenschaftliche Fakultät, Institut für Physik Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin



Dr. Hubert Aulich - SC Sustainable Concepts

Prof. Dr. Michael Kneissl - Technische Universität Berlin, Institut für Festkörperphysik

Prof. Dr. Darrell G. Schlom - Cornell University, Dept. Materials Science and Engineering

Dr. Martin M. Frank - IBM, Thomas J. Watson Research Center

Dr. Georg Schwalb - Siltronic AG

Prof. Dr. Götz Seibold - Brandenburgische Technische Universität (BTU), Cottbus- Senftenberg

Prof. Dr. Thomas Südmeyer - University of Neuchâtel, Physics Institute


Prof. Dr. Bernd Tillack - IHP GmbH - Innovations for High Performance Microelectronics /

                                           Leibniz-Institut für innovative Mikroelektronik


Organization Chart (since 04/2019)

Organigramm aktuell EN

Partnerlogo 1 EN

Partnerlogo 2

Partnerlogo 3